cover image



Tags

vignette

software

review

film

rationality

Ice Latte


Where did you get this?

I found it in the park. Pretty, isn’t it?

Someone’s probably looking for it.

I wish them luck.

Let’s move on, literally and metaphorically.

You know, there’s a coffee shop that recently opened near here, we can wait there while we check it out.

You mean the one by the laundry?

Yup.

I wonder whose idea it was to open a coffee shop next to a laundry.

It makes sense, you can wait there while your pile is spinning and, if you’re lucky, have a chat with the cutie who happened to be washing her stuff next to you.

Sounds to me like the setup of a bad rom-com.

You watch too many movies.

Too many for what?

For the health of your poor eyes. I mean, look at your glasses, I swear they’re just like a seashell that grows a new layer every year.

They’re the same thickness they were when I was in school and you know it.

Ok, Ok, let’s take that table by the window before those kids get to it.

….

That was close.

Right? Must be laundry day or something in this neighborhood.

Pity though the cutie didn’t show up.

He did show up. Turn to your seven and pretend you’re looking for the waitress.

I’ll take your word for it. And, by the way, where is the waitress?

* * *

*Buzz Click*

….

*Buzz Click*

….

*Buzz Click*

What’s that sound?

I don’t know.

Fuck, it’s annoying.

Don’t like it? Go home.

Haha.

Big haha.

I don’t know what I’m going to do if I don’t get this job. I’m getting desperate here.

One wouldn’t have thought, I practically had to drag you out of the coffee shop.

I couldn’t help it. You don’t see that type of eye candy every day, you know.

This is about priorities. If you’re broke, you won’t be able to get into a relationship and keep it.

You mean the “love vs. money” cliché?

No, I don’t mean the “love vs. money” cliché. What I mean is that when you’re in a relationship you have to take care of the ones you love and help them solve their problems. And since the economy runs on money, not hugs and kisses, you’re going to need money for a lot of that. I mean, just as an example, suppose your loved one gets sick and there’re hospital bills to pay, what would you do then?

I agree. I’m not just saying that, I really mean it.

But you’d still miss an appointment like this one if I’m not there to drag you out of the coffee shop.

I can’t help it. You don’t see that type of eye candy every day, you know.

If you blow this interview you won’t have the money to go into a coffee shop in the first place.

I won’t need money if I’m going in to rob the place. Hey, you can help me with that, you go for the register, I’ll be crowd control.

Yeah, and the cutie will be so impressed that he’ll leave with you, and you two will live happily ever after on your share of the loot….hold on, they’re going to call out a new name.

Posted: 02-04-2022
Tags: vignette